Zig Clean Color Real Brush 80

I started early 2015 trying my hand on Brush pen calligraphy. That was the time that i was introduced to the options of felt tip brush pens and synthetic ones. This is where the Clean Color comes into play. 

It was not an easy pen to use for calligraphy when I tried it out at first. I only owned two colors at that time and I eventually chucked it out of frustration.

Months and months after, i gave it another try and it was finally working for me. You have to keep it mind that if you’re using this for calligraphy, you will be up for a challenge. The lightest touch of pressure will create your thick lines because these are similar to actual paintbrushes.

Before I get ahead of myself, I created a color swatch for those who are interested. I got the template from Jennifer McGuire Ink which you could download for your perusal as well.

Do note that the colors on the left of the name are the pens itself. The ones on the right of the names are the colors watered down – if you want to see the watercolor effect when you decide to do so. Advantages of the pen being waterbased! 

I printed the template on 200GSM cold pressed watercolor paper. I prefer the texture, really. 

On the righ side of the names, the swatches were diluted with water.

I write with the pen first and then I use a wet paintbrush just to go over it. Extending it to show how the brush can drag the colors.


I personally am smitten with the light and pale hues which I love to use in contrast when I use their darker counterpart.

Write-Ability: If you have been following me for quite some time, you know that my writing belongs to the much smaller scale. 


This is how big it can get if I do Calligraphy. Do not expect precise and smooth edges when using these because they are bristles unlike the firm tips of felt brush pens. Write slowly to get ink flowing in a more solid manner. If you want the feathered effect normal paintbrushes work, quicker strokes for me tend to do that.

Keep in mind that when I dabble into lettering, I still use a pencil to sketch out what I write so I can adjust primarily the sizes of my letters accordingly.


Blending Colors: It has been easy to blend the colors (if you intend to use these for coloring) when i attempt to do lettering. 

You may use the lighter shade to grab the darker color and transition them gradually OR you may opt to use a paintbrush to let water do the blending for you. 

The “go” on the left was just blended using the Clean Color pens themselves. – the colors look more saturated and you can see that two shades were used. 

 The “go” on the right was blended with a wet paintbrush. The shades literally flowed and it’s seemingly smooth!

Should I hoarder? (order) – I use both techniques depending on what I need to do and what paper I am using. Though you may not need all 80 colors, I wanted all 80 colors! It is worth buying if you make it worth your time. Meaning; it may cost you much at first but if you see how much potential it has in your arsenal and take advantage of it, it is most definitely worth hoardering (ordering)

Did this make sense? I hope i was able to help you out on this. Let me know on the comments below! 
*I bought this set on my own (okay, I lie – I used my husband’s credit card). I was asked to review and create swatches through Instagram but hey, if the products are nice; there’s no harm in sharing that it is! 

Leave a Reply

